Map Page
Page Index
What's New
Contact Us


Tabernacle Chapel

Brecon Road


Tabernacle Baptist Chapel

In 1834 a disagreement occurred at Ebenezer Chapel, Plymouth Street and 54 members of the congregation left, some going to Zion, Twynyrodyn and some to Penypound in Aberdare. 

Because of the distance they had to travel, the worshippers who had gone to Aberdare decided that they should start their own cause in Merthyr, and so began worshipping in a room near St Tydfil’s Church. In 1836 they bought an unfinished chapel in Bryant’s Field, Brecon Road for £25 and completed it at a cost of £350. By 1842, it was obvious that the chapel was too small, so a new chapel was built on the site of the old building at a cost of £2,200. When it was completed the new chapel was the largest chapel in Wales.


By the 1890’s a movement was set in motion by Mrs Davies, wife of Alderman David Davies to provide more comfortable chapel. When Mrs Davies died, Alderman Davies took up the movement and the building of the chapel was begun. The new chapel was designed by George Morgan of Carmarthen and would eventually cost over £5000 to build - a £1000 of which was raised by the congregation. The new chapel was opened in 1897.


Steve Brewer



The original Tabernacle Chapel, seen here in 1917, just before being demolished.

(Photograph courtesy of Mrs Gil Thomas)


Tabernacle Chapel. Easter Sunday, 5th April 2015.

(Photograph courtesy of Jason Watkins)

Tabernacle Chapel Band of Hope - 1942

Back Row L-R:     David Raymond, Robert Parry, John Evans, John Bennet, Roy Owen, Ron Owen, David hudson, Cyril Hughes,

                            Wyn Roberts, Roy Richards, Jacky Owen, Mr Alfred Hudson (Organist).

Middle Row L-R:   ?, Gloria Richards, Marion Bowen, Barbara Davies, Brenda Morgan, Mary Harrington,

                            Ann davies, Shirley Riley, Maureen Thomas, Gwenira Owen, June Davies, Nesta Powell,

                            Barbara Thomas.                      

Front Row L-R:    Tina Harrington, ?, Wendy parry, Dorothy Cross, Betty Bowen, Gillian Roderick, Gwyneth Fisher, Arnold Davies,

                            Annett Morgan, Margaret Ralph, Enfys Guy, Ann Williams, Margaret Ann Davies (Sunday School Teacher)

(Photograph & Information Courtesy of Don & Nesta Chamberlain)



Tabernacle chapel, New Minister. Rev. David Protheroe, February 1980

L-R:- Harold Evans, Trevor Evans, Rev. David Protheroe, S. Tegfan Griffiths, Rev. W. T. Pennar Davies, Rev. Islwyn Davies, Rev. Vaughan Walters.

(Photograph from the Merthyr Express)