Map Page
Page Index
What's New
Contact Us


Pontycapel Brewery

Merthyr Tydfil.


The Pontycapel Brewery was once described as '' the most picturesque in the kingdom '', standing at the head of a wooded valley on the banks of the River Taff . Its water supply came from a spring called Ffynon Oer or cold well. This was some 200yds further up the valley and its water was carried to the brewery by an iron pipe. Power was initially provided by a water wheel .

The brewery was founded by Robert Millar , a maltster, early in the 19th
century . It was purchased from Millars trustees around 1860 by James
Pearce, a Herefordshire man. He was succeeded by his son Harry Dyke Pearce. The property was then considerably improved. In 1871 the company was trading as Pearce and Shapton and their offices were at 3, Victoria Street. The manager at the brewery for some 30 years was a Mr Thomas Morris .

Their ales were considered to be amongst the finest in the country particularly the Star Bright XXXX Pale Ale .At the end of the century the brewery had over 60 tied houses and a very large free trade. After WW1 and the closure of the Cyfarthfa Iron Works trading was extremely difficult and in 1921 it was wound up . It was then called the Cefn Viaduct Brewery
Company but this only lasted until 1925 . Yet another company was formed called The New Pontycapel Brewery Company but in 1930 it ceased trading and the Rhymney Brewery took over all its public houses .

Geoff Matsell.

Pont-Y-Capel Brewery.


Pontycapel Bridge and Brewery in the 1930's

This Photograph was taken by Mr Ted Cordell. (deceased) of South Terrace, Cefn Coed. 

(Courtesy of his son,  John Cordell .)

PontyCapelBridge1930s.jpg (119578 bytes)

Pontycapel Brewery



Pontycapel Brewery

Share Certificate


(Courtesy of Valerie Verdone)



An old advertisement for the Pontycapel Brewery

CefnCoed_PontycapelBrewery_2.JPG (114617 bytes)



To Cefn Viaduct