Map Page
Page Index
What's New
Contact Us


Freemen of the Borough

Roll of Honour

David Alfred Thomas, Member of Parliament for the Borough of Merthyr Tydfil 10th January 1907
William Thomas Lewis, Baronet K.C.V.O., DL, J.P. 1st October 1908
Henry Seymour Berry, J.P 6th July 1923
Enoch Morrell, J.P 6th February 1930
Andrew Wilson, J.P 5th October 1939
The Rt.Hon.The Lord Portal,D.S.O.,M.VO 27th June 1938
Frank Treharne James, M.B.E. 5th October 1939
Clement Richard Attlee, C.H., M.P. Prime Minister 18th April 1946
John Edward Jones, J.P. 8th July 1948
Charles James Griffiths, J.P 5th July 1951
TheRt. Hon. The ViscountKemsley 28thApril 1955
Arthur Lewis Horner 23rd April 1959
The Rt. Hon. The Lord Evans, G.C.V.O., M.D., F.R.C.E. 26th April 1962
Howard Winstone, M.B.E 10th April 1969
The Rt. Hon. Harold Wilson O.B.E., M.P. Prime Minister and First Lord of the Treasury 13th March 1970
Stanley Beynon, J.P 22nd March 1974
David Thomas Davies, M.B.E. 22nd March 1974
Felix Mansager C.B.E., President-Chairman The Hoover Company 22nd March 1974
Her Majesty's Welsh Regiment of Foot Guards in the presence of H.R.H. The Prince of Wales K.G.,K.T., P.C.,G.C.B., A.D.C. The Colonel 30th July 1983
The Right Reverend Bishop Desmond Mpilo Tutu, Bishop of Johannesburg 23rd May 1986
Councillor Edward Thomcs, M.B.E. 23rd April 1992
Stanley Thomas Esq., M.BE. 23rd April 1992
Royal Welch Fusiliers 15th April 1994
Royal Regiment of Wales 23rd March 1996
Sir Gilbert Stanley Thomas Esq., O.B.E 5th May 2006
Sir Mansel Aylward C.B. 5th August 2013

To Schools Page